Graduation

Three years later, I graduated. Here is video and text from my graduation speech.

 

 

In my first class of seminary, I stepped into a pulpit and introduced myself by quoting Jay Z: I’m like Che Guevara with bling on, I’m complex. In truth, at that moment my own complexity terrified me. Being everything that I am all at once seemed impossible. Since then I have changed and grown and come to see the fullness of myself: my seemingly  mismatched identities, my contradictions, my vast network of complexities as Divine. So. Allow me to reintroduce myself:

 

My name is KC. My hair is purple, my dress is rainbow colors, my earrings are big, my makeup took a long time. I’m a bad fat bitch, writer, podcaster, dancer, lover, free-range everything.

 

In a world of either/or I often say “yes.” I am about all multiple everything. I love multiple people in multiple categories in multiple ways. I love God in plural, even though I still couldn’t tell you what exactly God is.

 

I am impossible. I prefer it that way.

 

I am an unfinished story. I am weaving together threads I’ve been handed – threads I asked for and threads I never wanted. I am creation creating itself in collaboration with all other creating creations.

 

I am liminal. I am between. I am, I am, I am.

 

I love you.

 

I am and have been loved by other impossible people. Loved as loves, as confidants, as friends, as acquaintances, as a reader of works written by people I’ll never know. Their love makes me feel possible. I want to love in ways that make other people possible. To be a person in the world who makes even one person say yes to themselves.

 

I want you to say yes to yourself.
Breathe, say yes, and let go. We’ve got a future to build.

4 thoughts on “Graduation

  1. humblesinner says:

    Thank you for this post! I am an unfinished story too…different, ever changing, complex…Thank you for reassuring me that there are others out there 🙂

  2. baog3 says:

    “love makes me feel possible.” This is amazing.

  3. xviaccess says:

    I simply love this. ❤

  4. That’s the beauty of life, as long as we’re here we are unfinished and ever changing. Great post!

Leave a Reply

